Due to the impact of Hurricane Ian, Governor DeSantis issued an executive order effective 9/23/2022 which waives all late fees for registration renewals for 60 days. Late fees also waived for other Tax Collector transactions. Learn more here.
If you had a reservation during our office closures, we will honor your reservation for the next 2 weeks, or you can reschedule for a time that is convenient for you. We hope you and your loved ones are safe following the storm.
Temporary Tag Information
Florida law provides for a variety of legal uses of temporary license plates. Temporary license plates may be used for a period of 10, 30, or 90 days according to the purpose for which the plate is issued.
The most common use is by motor vehicle dealers to allow customers who do not have a license plate to transfer to be able to drive their newly purchased vehicle off the lot. This type of temporary license plate is valid for 30 days including the date of issue, which gives dealers ample time to apply for title and registration for their customers.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) requires dealers to choose an approved vendor to process the dealer’s Electronic Temporary Registration (ETR) applications. Click here for a list of authorized DHSMV service providers.
Once a dealer is licensed and has a relationship with an ETR provider, the dealer can purchase pre-printed paper temporary license plates to be used in the event of an ETR outage or used by a dealer for trailers that are under 2,000 pounds.
Florida dealers licensed pursuant to Florida Statutes 320.27, 320.77, and 320.771 may purchase temporary license plates at the dealer counter. Temporary license plates are sold in increments of 5 with a maximum of 25 temporary license plates per transaction. Form HSMV 83090 – Application by Florida Motor Vehicle, Motorcycle, Mobile Home or Recreational Vehicle Dealer for Temporary License Plate must be completed and submitted with each transaction.
Temporary license plates are $2.00 each, and a $2.50 service fee will apply to each transaction. In the event of an ETR outage, the dealer can issue a pre-printed temporary license plate valid for 30 days.
Additional information on temporary license plates can be found in the DHSMV Dealer Handbook
Ten (10) day temporary license plates may be issued under the following circumstances:
- When a motor vehicle is required to be weighed for registration purposes.
- When a motor vehicle/motorcycle is required to have the vehicle identification number verified or the motor vehicle/motorcycle must be inspected to apply for a Florida Certificate of Title or for registration purposes.
Thirty (30) day temporary license plates may be issued for casual or private sales, examples include:
- The seller of a motor vehicle may request a temporary license plate for demonstration purposes to allow potential buyers to test drive the vehicle. A temporary license plate cannot be issued if the current vehicle owner has not previously registered the vehicle in Florida or in lieu of renewing the license plate currently assigned to the vehicle. Proof of Florida Insurance Coverage is required.
- For banks, credit unions, and other financial institutions which are not required to be licensed under the provisions of section 27, 77, or 320.771, Florida Statutes, but need temporary license plates to demonstrate repossessions for sale.
- When a motor vehicle, motorcycle or recreational vehicle is sold in this state to a resident of another state for registration in their home state and is not required to be registered under the provisions of section 320.38, Florida Statutes. Refer to TL-08 for required sales tax information.
- When an out-of-state resident, subject to registration in this state, must secure ownership documentation from their home state.
- Example: An individual from another state is moving to Florida and needs to get their title documentation from the other state to register and title their vehicle in Florida.
- For a vessel trailer dealer to issue upon the sale of a vessel trailer.
- For use on a commercial vehicle (heavy truck), even carrying a load, if the vehicle remains in Florida. Proof of Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) is required, unless purchased in the first 60 days. If the commercial vehicle is traveling out of state, a trip permit for International Registration Plan (IRP) and International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) is required. For more information, please visit FLHSMV’s Commercial Vehicle page here.
Ninety (90) day temporary license plate may be issued under the following circumstances:
- To a customer upon application for a personalized or special license plate, while the license plate is being manufactured.
- Customer who is temporarily employed in Florida.
Section 320.131(5), Florida Statutes, any person who knowingly and willfully abuses or misuses temporary license plate issuance to avoid registering a vehicle requiring registration commits a misdemeanor of the first degree.
Section 320.131(6), Florida Statutes, any person who knowingly and willfully issues a temporary license plate or causes another to issue a temporary license plate to a fictitious person or entity to avoid disclosure of the true owner of a vehicle commits a felony of the third degree.
Click here to Make a Reservation in line to visit one of our offices for service.